ATA Celebrates 50 Years Handicaps / Victoria / 12 Jan, 2017

Dear Member,

The Australian Trainers’ Association (ATA) 50 Years celebration in 2017 will see themed races run around Australia. These races will carry the race name “ATA Celebrates 50 Years Handicap”, and showcase ATA race livery i.e.: saddlecloths & strappers tunics.

Nothing special about that, you say! And ordinarily, we would agree with you…however, one aspect that will be of significant interest to members is ATA sponsored trainer bonuses attaching to each race.

These bonuses, which apply in addition to standard prizemoney, operate as follows:

Are payable ONLY to Trainers who satisfy the following criteria in its entirety:

a) Their runner(s) finish in positions 1 / 2 / 3 in the “ATA Celebrates 50 Years Handicap”;

b) Financial Member

    (i)They are a financial Member of the ATA; and
    (ii) Have been a financial Member of the ATA for at least twelve (12) months prior to race date.

The incentives will be paid directly to the Trainers who earn same by either EFT or cheque.

Payment to the Trainers will be made 30 days post race date.

Incentives are $3,000 for 1st; $2,000 for 2nd; $1,000 for 3rd.

For Victoria, and in addition to the metropolitan race venue/date currently being negotiated, four races will be run at regional venues. These venues, together with the type of race, were selected to provide broad opportunity for our state wide membership base to compete, should they so chose.

On the day in question for each race, representatives from the ATA will be on course, and will host a casual cocktail style function using on course facilities. We welcome trainers, their families, and staff to drop in, say hello, and enjoy food and drink across the day.

The selected regional venues, race types and dates follow:

Race Date
Entries Close
BM58 1,600mtrs
12 Feb
7 Feb
Maiden 4YO+ 1,100mtrs
19 Feb
14 Feb
Maiden 3YO+ 1,100mtrs
23 Feb
20 Feb
Swan Hill
BM58 975mtrs
3 March
27 Feb

We thank Racing Victoria, Country Racing Victoria and the regional race clubs (Benalla Racing Club Inc., Moe Racing Club Inc., Warrnambool Racing Club Inc., and Swan Hill Jockey Club Inc.) for their support of this initiative.

To our members, we look forward to your support of this commemorative event, and to catching up with you on race day.

Wishing all competing members the best of luck.


Andrew Nicholl
Chief Executive Officer