ATA Queensland Branch – Members Update / Queensland / 04 May, 2011

In what was one of the most bizarre incidents in recent history, the Shane Scriven whip-gate affair certainly has a divided range of opinions on the penalty issued by Racing Queensland Stewards. Whatever individual thoughts are, and acknowledging that his actions certainly overstepped the boundaries, what is commonly agreed is that one of our most long serving and successful jockeys deserves a fair go and a penalty that gives him the best opportunity to be able to continue doing what he does best. The ATA sent a letter supporting Shane’s appeal to have his penalty reviewed and suggesting that such a one-off and unusual event is not warranting a deterrent style penalty on this occasion.


The Ambassador Travel Racetree Wayne Wilson Medal has been won for the month of April by Michael Jacobs with his ill-fated son off Dubia Destination, Al Mazaya.

After winning his last four starts in a row it was devastating for Michael and his connections to lose the home-bred 4yr old who had won them over $200,000 from his 9 career wins. Michael worked previously as a dentist before an accident effected his sight that now has him concentrating his efforts into training. Three families from Mackay (John & Julie Borg, Tony & Trish Brown, David & Joy Deguara) were very helpful to Michael after his accident and as an appreciation were all given a share in Al Mazaya and had enjoyed a fantastic ride with the horse. Training a small team at Caloundra, Michael has high hopes for Al Mazaya’s half brother by Red Ransom which he has just broken-in.

The 12 monthly winners will be in the running to win the inaugural Wayne Wilson Medal for the 2010-11 racing season. The Medal is proudly promoted by the ATA and sponsored by Ambassador Travel and Racetree, with the winner at the end of the racing season receiving an all inclusive trip for two to the 2011 Cox Plate along with a magnificent perpetual trophy, and of course the Wayne Wilson Medal. Thanks once again to our sponsors and

The Ambassador Travel Racetree Wayne Wilson Medal 2010-11

August : Trevor Thomas, Jedi Starfighter’s win at Eagle Farm at 200-1
September : Ben Currie, Rothera winning 5th race from 7 starts
October : Roger Milne, Captain Sonador winning the Epsom Handicap
November : Norm Hilton, Poor Judge winning the Chatham Handicap
December : Ben Ahrens, Spechenka winning Summer Cup at Randwick
January: Tony Gollan, Temple of Boom winning the Magic Millions Sprint
February: Darryl Hansen, Essington making it 4 in a row in the Falvelon Quality Hcp
March : Pat Sexton, Lucky Leak making it 4 in a row winning the Weetwood Hcp
April : Michael Jacobs, Al Mazaya winning 4 in a row

One of the major benefits of being a member of the ATA is having a support network to go to if you have problems or concerns. We can’t solve them all, but we will take your issue on board and try and negotiate on your behalf where we can. Whatever the problem contact us and we will at the least, point you in the right direction. If you are not a member yet, now is the right time to join.