Australian Racing Hall of Fame Inductees Announced / National / 26 Aug, 2009

Three-time Melbourne Cup winning jockey Jim Johnson has been announced as one of six champions of the Australian turf who will be inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2009.

Two jockeys, two trainers, two horses and one associate will secure their place in Australian racing history when they are officially inducted at the ceremony to be conducted on Monday 31 August at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne, presented by Sky Racing, and 1300 Australia.

Along with Johnson, Harold Badger, winner of six Melbourne Jockeys Premierships spanning a decade from1938 -1948, will also be inducted in the Crown Metropol Hall of Fame Jockeys category.

The other inductees are:


Bayly Payten – Winner of seven Sydney Metropolitan Trainers’ Premierships between 1940 and 1948.

Jack Green – Green’s greatest training feat was the victory of Baystone in the 1958 Melbourne Cup.


Strawberry Road – A champion both at home and abroad earning $680,080 in Australia and $1.5 million overseas.

Comic Court – From 53 starts, Comic Court amassed 28 wins and 15 placings, including the 1950 Melbourne Cup.


Bill Whittaker – One of racing’s most influential journalists for more than 40 years earning him an Order of Australia Medal in 2008.

Chairman of the Selection Panel for the Hall of Fame Bryan Martin OAM said, “Seven names will be added to the wonderful achievers of racing this year; equine heroes of bygone years that thrilled racing fans as well as dedicated people who have left an indelible mark on the Australian turf.”

For the first time this year, the Hall of Fame Selection Committee has invited the racing public to determine which of four nominated members of the Hall of Fame will be elevated to Legend status to join icons Phar Lap and Bart Cummings.

The finalists are:

Makybe Diva - in addition to her history making Melbourne Cup feats in 2003/04/05, the champion mare also won the 2005 Tatts Cox Plate, Australian Cup and The BMW. She was rated the best stayer in the world in 2005 and amassed an Australasian record $14,526,685 in prize money.

Carbine – trained by Dan O’Brien and later Walter Hickenbotham, Carbine captured the heart and imagination of the nation. He won 33 races in the late 1880s and early 1890s including the 1890 Melbourne Cup, two Sydney Cups, two VRC Champion Stakes, three VRC All-Aged Stakes and three AJC Plates. He later sired the winner of the 1906 English Derby.

Scobie Breasley - won four Caulfield Cups in succession between 1942 and 1945 and later returned from a trip to England to record a fifth win in the race in 1952. Breasley established a huge reputation during an outstanding career in the UK, winning two English Derbies and the 1958 Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe. He won the English Jockeys' Premiership four times and his career total of 3,251 winners included more than 2,000 in England.

Tommy (TJ) Smith - dominated Sydney racing for over three decades, winning the Sydney Trainers' Premiership every year between 1953 and 1985. In addition to training two of the all-time greats of the turf, Tulloch and Kingston Town, Smith won two Melbourne Cups, four Caulfield Cups, seven Cox Plates, six Golden Slippers, 35 Derbies and a total of 279 Group 1 races.

The Australian Racehorse of the Year and Hall of Fame Awards, presented by Sky Racing, and 1300 Australia will take place at the Palladium at Crown, Melbourne on Monday 31 August 2009.

To book tickets call 1300 139 407 or visit