Australian Racing Hall of Fame / National / 03 Apr, 2012

The Australian Racing Hall of Fame induction ceremony is Australian racing’s night of nights and Sydney will host the event for the first time in five years at the Four Seasons Hotel on Friday, 13 April 2012.

Now in its 12th year, the Australian Racing Hall of Fame is the racing industry’s highest honour and acknowledges the feats of racing’s heroes of the turf, both equine and human, who have achieved greatness throughout their careers.

In 2012, the Australian Racing Hall of Fame is in the first of a two year transition period of ensuring the Hall of Fame is celebrated and accepted as a truly national celebration of the racing industry’s best and therefore the awards will be conducted under the auspices of the national racing body, the Australian Racing Board (ARB) from 2014.

Another exciting change to the 2012 Australian Racing Hall of Fame is that the identities of this year’s ten inductees, and Hall of Fame Legend, to join the 121 racing heroes previously inducted, will be concealed until the gala induction dinner in Sydney.

A new ‘in-camera’ voting system whereby a secret ballot system is now in place and each of the ten committee members, under first time Chairman Bob Charley, have voted and are unaware of the final tallies and therefore the final inductees until their identities are announced at the award ceremony.

The Australian Racing Hall of Fame will welcome another five horse inductees in 2012, the first time five horses have been inducted since 2005, and they will join Northerly and Sky High as the most recently inducted equine champions.

Again in 2012, the Hall of Fame will welcome another two jockeys, two trainers and one associate to join the esteemed list that already includes luminaries such as Arthur “Scobie’ Breasley, Roy Higgins, Harry White, Ron Quinton, Darren Beadman, Damien Oliver, Bart Cummings, Colin Hayes, Tommy Smith, Lee Freedman, John Hawkes, Jim Houlahan, Jack Denham, Gai Waterhouse, Bill Collins, Banjo Patterson, the Inglis Family and Jack and Bob Ingham.

In 2007, the Australian Racing Hall of Fame inducted the great Phar Lap as its first legend and this year it will award another current Hall of Fame member legend status. Since 2007, trainer Bart Cummings, jockey Arthur ‘Scobie’ Breasley and three-time Melbourne Cup heroine Makybe Diva have all been inducted as legends of the Hall of Fame.