INFORMATION BULLETIN – Members Update (TAS) | 19 August 2022

Tasmanian Update

Dear Member,

Stephen Shaw, based out of Brighton in the south of the state, has been elected President of the Tasmanian branch of the Australian Trainers’ Association. We congratulate Stephen on his appointment.

Stephen succeeds Nigel Schuuring with immediate effect, the latter electing to step down after more than 5 years in the role.

We thank Nigel for his tireless work during his presidency, a period where he and the committee oversaw major change to the Tasmanian thoroughbred racing industry, including significant prizemoney increases, an improved funding model from the Point of Consumption Tax (POCT) earnings, race programming changes, and upgrades to racing and training infrastructure. Nigel was also the ‘voice of trainers’ across 2020-2022, assisting the State Government and Tasracing to steer the industry through a difficult time at the height of the COVID pandemic.

Nigel will remain an active committee member for the branch, and along with Stephen and our other hard working committee members, will continue to strongly represent the needs and interests of the training community with all stakeholders, including in particular, the race clubs, the Racing Minister The Hon. Madeleine Olgilvie, the Office of Racing Integrity and Tasracing.

ATA Tasmanian Branch Committee:
Stephen Shaw, Graeme McCulloch, Tanya Hansen, Nigel Schuuring, Marion Dalco, Cameron Thompson, Alan Fulton.

Yours faithfully,

Chief Executive