New Chair & Deputy At Thoroughbred Racing SA / South Australia / 21 Oct, 2010

Prominent QC Frances Nelson has been elected the new chairwoman of peak industry body Thoroughbred Racing SA.

Nelson, noted as a strong supporter of jumps racing, was appointed to the board when it came into existence in 2007.

She succeeds Philip Bentley, who was voted out last month by TRAS’s shareholders, the South Australian Jockey Club and the South Australian Racing Clubs Council. Nelson’s appointment was unanimous, as was that of new deputy chair Simon Ward.

New directors Ken Smith, David Cross and Brian Foster also officially replaced the outgoing Bentley, Greg Boulton and Andrew Killey, following yesterday’s TRSA annual general meeting.