Queensland Enters a New Era in Racing Administration / Queensland / 01 Jul, 2010

Queensland enters a new era in racing administration today with the three racing codes coming under one control body, Racing Queensland Limited.

RQL chairman Bob Bentley said the coming together of an amalgamated control body to administer all codes of racing in the state will have far reaching positive consequences for all stakeholders.

“The efficiencies and synergies available to a single organisation controlling and directing the future of racing are a huge step forward over the previous silo type approach,” said Mr Bentley.

“Prizemoney is close to the hearts of all racing participants and it has always been my position that prizemoney should be funded through recurring revenue streams to ensure its regularity and sustainability.

“These efficiencies and synergies will allow Racing Queensland far more flexibility in the allocation of prizemoney and moreover the ability to greatly influence wagering revenue through a coordinated approach to the state's racing calendar across all codes of racing.

“The financial contribution from the Queensland State Government, effective July 1, of $80m recognising the racing industry's contribution to the Queensland state economy, will provide upgrades of sustainable infrastructure for racing in Queensland.”

Employees, assets, liabilities and responsibilities of the previous existing racing control bodies, Queensland Racing Limited, Harness Racing Queensland and Greyhounds Queensland Limited, have been transferred to Racing Queensland Limited.

The new RQL board consists of Bob Bentley (chairman), Tony Hanmer (deputy chairman), Bob Lette, Bill Ludwig, Wayne Milner, Bradley Ryan and Kerry Watson.

To lead the new organisation RQL have a very experienced skills-based board which provides appropriate representation from all codes and will ensure continued success and prosperity for all racing participants and stakeholders into the future through strong control and strategic vision.

The executive management team comprises chief executive officer Malcolm Tuttle with the other executive positions being: Jamie Orchard (director of integrity operations); Paul Brennan (director of product development); and Adam Carter (chief financial officer).

Other notable appointments are Darren Beavis (greyhound racing manager), Damian Raedler (harness racing manager), Brent Leisemann (TAB thoroughbred racing manager), Col Truscott (non-TAB thoroughbred racing manager), Warren Williams (facilities maintenance and development manager), Zac Bryson (chief steward greyhounds), Martin Knibbs (chief steward harness), Wade Birch (chief steward thoroughbreds), Wayne King (manager investigations and operations), Tracey Harris (finance and business manager), David Rowan (information technology and communications manager), Peter Smith (licensing and training manager), and Shara Murray (senior corporate counsel/company secretary).

“With the merger now complete we can now look forward to building a strong and cohesive racing industry in Queensland and we're confident of a bright future ahead for all those involved in the three unique types of racing in our great state,” Mr Bentley said.