Trainers Neville Begg, Cecil Godby and Pat Hyland among 2016 Australian Racing Hall of Fame Inductees / National / 18 May, 2016

The Australian Trainers' Association Executive congratulates racing industry identities, Neville Begg, the late Cecil Godby and Pat Hyland who have been included among the inductees into the 2016 Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

Inducted under the Trainers category, Neville Begg was at the forefront of the Australian training ranks for 30 years. Beginning his training operation at Randwick in 1967, Neville quickly established himself with numerous winners in his first season, and rapidly tasting Group 1 success by winning his first feature race with Divide and Rule in the AJC Derby in 1968. For nearly two decades, he was in the top five Sydney trainers, and nine times, was runner up on the Trainers’ Premiership behind the great Tommy Smith. His best year came in 1978-79 when he had 88 winners. At Group and Listed level, Neville trained the winners of 139 feature races, including 39 at Group 1 level.

Joining Neville in the Trainers category is Cecil Godby. Godby, who began his career as a jockey, later turned his hand to training in 1900. For the next 40 years, Cecil was consistently at the top of his profession, and among his many feature race wins were the Caulfield Cup, AJC Derby, Caulfield Guineas, Australian Cup and Oakleigh Plate.

Pat Hyland, who has been inducted under the Jockey category, was one of Australia’s greatest jockeys. Hyland was indentured to training great and fellow Australian Racing Hall of Famer, Jim Moloney, at the age of 15 and together they formed one of the most enduring and successful partnerships in Australian racing history. In a career spanning more than 30 years in the saddle, Pat rode over 2300 winners, including the ‘big four’ of the Australian Turf - the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Golden Slipper. Following his retirement from the saddle, Hyland made a successful transition to the training ranks and for over two decades has enjoyed great success, including Group 1 success, as a horse trainer.

The latest list of inductees join an elite group of people, including Bart Cummings, Tommy Smith, Colin Hayes, Fred & Bob Hoysted and Gai Waterhouse, along with champion jockeys Scobie Breasley, Roy Higgins and Harry White to name a few.

We extend our congratulations to all 2016 inductees on receiving this accolade recognising their contribution, dedication and achievements over many years in the Australian racing industry.